In partnership with CBSSports.com
Online Now 222
Online now 778 Record: 7224 (2/22/2012)
The place to talk about the Texas Longhorns
The place for off topic discussion on Hookem
You have no favorite boards.
The most viewed topics.
The most replied to topics.
The most up-voted topics.
The most down-voted topics.
The most up-voted posters.
The most down-voted posters.
The most followed posters.
Looking at twitter, there seem to be two major storylines for the day.
1. The Masters is reviewing whether or not Tiger Woods made a legal drop on hole #15 yesterday. If it was illegal, he could be out of the tourney. No ETA from the folks at the Masters but they are known to be reviewing it.
2. Kobe Bryant tore his achilles last night. Out for season.
Follow on Twitter: http://twitter.com/BobbyBurton247
Kobe could be out for a lot longer than the rest of this season
Took some cajones for David Feherty to comment on Woods' drop. Woods admitted he took it two yards further back. That is not "close as possible" to the original lie under he rule. He should be DQ, but do the tournament officials have the balls to do it.
Two shot penalty. Such BS. As bad as moving a big ass rock!!!
Wow, what a helluva start to a Saturday.
IMO Kobe is going to be another athlete that will not know when to retire. I don't think it will turn into another Brett Favre saga, because I think the Lakers will keep him no matter what, but I think he will not know when to quit, which will make him look pretty sad at the end of his career...
They hit Tiger with a 2 stroke penalty. No DQ.
which is exactly the opposite of what he said in an interview just a week ago.
Curious as to how they came up with that decision. What's the protocol for giving a two stroke penalty vs a DQ. Kind of wonder if they did that just because its Tiger and he's winning.
Rule change in 2012 allows the committee to assess penalty besides DQ if they see fit.
Lots of differing opinions about what the rules com did. I like the one that he should have been DQd. I'm not a hater. Tiger knows the rules. He said that he intentionally took it back two yards further. In my opinion, end of discussion. It will be interesting to see if he withdraws, but I doubt his ego will let him do it. This is going to be a very big deal in golf. Very.
Of course that's what he's gonna say, but you can tell that he's one that's not gonna go quietly...
Golf Channel calling for Tiger to be DQ'd or withdraw...tee time @ 1:45 ET...no show @ range so far this morning
This post was edited by mcb0703 12 months ago
I'd imagine he withdraws. Fantastic PR opportunity for a guy that is trying to repair his name.
This post was edited by WildBill71 12 months ago
Funniest part about this whole Masters/Tiger fiasco is that some guy watching on TV at home caught it and called in apparently.
Happens all the time, just not always a major, and a number one player. Dustin Johnson knows. Best guess is there were lots of calls. There were lots of people that probably mentally questioned the drop that did not call.
This post was edited by Good Old Days 12 months ago
Winning majors is more important to Tiger than repairing his name
Yup, probably should have been DQ'd, but just like in society, rules don't always apply if you are a big enough name.
Woods admitted he cheated, so he knew it when he signed his card. He should have the balls to do what the competition committee did not.
@Sooner_Nation: We have confirmed that ESPN Watch List QB Justice Hansen is in Norman today and has committed to the #Sooners.
Not sure he admitted he cheated. He admitted that he dropped two yards further back. Can hardly claim ignorance of the rules. From that standpoint, he should have known it was an illegal drop and called the penalty on himself. He did not.
On another side, Notah Begay is absolutely destroying himself on Golf Channel with his homeboy support of Tiger. Needs to add a ring to his nose that he can hook onto Tigers belt.
I don't think he admitted cheating. He broke a rule but is covered by another new rule put into place last year. I don't think he should be DQ'd or that he should withdraw. I think the 2 stroke penalty fits the crime and its time for them to tee it up and play.
He admitted to knowingly dropping the ball 2 yards behind the original lie in order to make his shot easier. How is that not cheating?
If they're going to asses a slow play penalty on a 14 yr old on the 17th then they should have DQ'd Tiger.
If they have the "rules are rules" attitude that is. I know 14 yr old chinese kids don't mean crap to the PGA when Sunday roles around though.
This post was edited by demon340 12 months ago
He admitted to dropping the ball "2 yards further back". I don't recall him saying in the interview that it was to improve his chances/shot. Maybe I missed that part, which is very possible. The fact remains when he went to the room to sign his card, he was given the go ahead by the officials and told he was fine and that they had reviewed the play.
247Sports In partnership with CBS Sports